Follow me

follow me

An angel in sandals

carrying candles

lighting the way down a path

I must journey alone.

My eyeballs
wired
to coming events
having left so many places
without a taste
not knowing the final cost
would find me here to waste
alone.

Time

you cruel companion

you have given, taken

left me now with you

alone.

Had I had a poet’s heart
a stranger’s life
a mind worth sharing
who knows where I
would be now
counting moments
between half-ass rhymes
alone.
I am no longer invincible
pain now hurts
body aches are real
breathing deep impossible
sleep but a dream
as that angel in sandals
whispers
follow me
alone.

6 thoughts on “Follow me

Leave a Reply

